Skip to content

Justified discontent?

May 26, 2011
by

Today was may day off between two days of split shifts: I had planned to do some errands (groceries (including ingredients for ice cream cake!), pick up sewing machine from a friend’s house to finally finish a purse I have been wanting to finish for weeks…. both of which I will tell you about in future posts), to wash my shoes (I adore Vibram five fingers… I wear them all day everyday, even to work and church – and they are machine washable, and with full time work for two weeks, walking  all day – they are really due to be washed!), to finish sewing the afrementioned purse, to take a nice long walk with the dog, to read my homework stuff, maybe even to garden!

But alas, the world had other plans.

Last night, Mister let me know he was filling in for a fellow teacher, and would be taking the car I was planning on using and needed to carry said sewing machine and get to said ingredients home while carrying said sewing machine. So, I would have to be up earlier and condense things – a little more homework, a little rearranging of the day – maybe I would have to cut out the trip to the fruit market to restock on fruits and veggies – I mean, ice cream cake would tide us over, right?

So I settled into that.

Then I woke up. And tried to get out of  bed. And I howled in pain.

Apparently one of my vertibrae decided today was a good day to relocate. It happens occasionally – my tendons are elongated and so my joints are looser than most people’s – I have to keep muscles in balance and stretch lots and whatnot. But usually I have warning. Usually I do something like twist my knee or take a good fall or fun into something or have something or someone run into me. I don’t usually just wake up like this.

My pillow and I have been fighting recently. Perhaps it just felt unappreciated (which it is). Perhaps it got tired of being squished into odd shapes to accomodate the funny sleeping positions I used to alleviate heat and pressure on my sunburn. Or perhaps it missed me and wanted to ensure it got more time with me.

Whatever the reason, I could not turn right (neither head nor upper body), bend right (head or uppter body), bend back or even align my head with my shoulders and spine, and the weight of my head was too much for my neck to handle for more than a few minutes. BOO!

So, no errands. No sewing. No getting change to wash my shoes. Little homework (hey, I’m sore!). Just laying and reading and icing, and scratching the puppy.

A forced day of rest, and I am still not happy… I am just difficult, aren’t I?

No comments yet

Leave a comment